An off-topic cycling post

Photo from the 30s(?). To Dad or Nanna - who are these children again? and what year was this taken?
Photo from the 30s(?). To Dad or Nanna – who are these children again? and what year was this taken?

While I was looking through the photos for the blog, I came across this photo, which Nanna showed me last April. I can’t remember who she said the children were (Dad/Nanna can you remind me!), but I was also really interested in the bicycle side-car. Does anyone remember being in or using a side-car for their bicycle? Has anyone seen one in use recently?

Coming soon: A post about cycling in South Africa…

5 thoughts on “An off-topic cycling post

  1. Could be Nanna and her little brother Ronnie. She was born in 1925. Ronnie drowned in 1939 when he was about 11 years old.

    1. Yeah, she often still mentions it..

      I guess that puts the picture in the early 30s.

      Hope all’s well in Minchinhampton. We just arrived in Cape Town yesterday, and we’re staying in a really nice self-catering little place. Just about to have pancakes!

      1. I had a chat with Nanna about this photo, as I haven’t seen it before. It is of Jean Lyon – Nanna’s niece, daughter of Beat and Henry Lyon – and Herbert Withers and was taken in c.1937. Beat and Henry had the bike. Pete x

    1. Thanks Dad, I thought it was someone else, but I couldn’t remember who Nanna said it was. I love her expression :P.

      @Sarah: I’ve seen loads of people with cargo-bikes/christiania bikes/etc, but none with the carriage on the side. I’ve linked it to the Edinburgh City Cycle Forum. Lots of the people on there have cargo bikes (plus we’ve borrowed trailers a few times from them!) so they might know more…

Leave a comment